Calgary – Day 1 – Arrival

We arrived – me from the east, just before Dorian (the hurricane) was deciding whether to visit or not, and Gloria, Georgia and Carol from the West. (They don’t have hurricanes there).
My flights were basically uneventful. I stopped in Chicago, not to change planes but just to deplane and re-plane because they have to check your passport.  So I walked around a little of Chicago O’Hare airport and found this statue of musicians.   Then it was back on the plane and off to Calgary.

The plane told me we were getting close, but since I was in an aisle seat, I couldn’t see anything.

Meanwhile, Gloria, Georgia and Carol were winging their way up from California and Gloria could see out the window. – Hello Canadian Rockies.  Hello Calgary.
By now I am at the airport, and they had all kinds of signs for me to want to capture.


But I need to get my luggage – and do customs.  Well customs was quick, but waiting on luggage, took a long time, so off I go to find more things to photograph. These lovely hand shaped steel images of birds, and wildlife were by Jeff  DeBoer.


How nice of them to entertain me while I waited, and waited.
OK, now time to get to my shuttle, but wait more statues and signs…
This last one was pretty but I couldn’t get the family to move away from it, so I only got part of it.

Now Calgary has a BIG airport,  I walked and walked and walked.  Shuttle to hotel, we are staying in a Sheraton Suites.  NICE.  It is in the Eau Claire district. About 5 blocks to China town, and 2 blocks to a bridge to the Prince’s Island Park with lots of flowers.  I also heard I should go see Steven’s Ave.
These are only a couple of images as I need to head back to the hotel to await the arrival of the girls.  Checked in, we went for a short walk before our scheduled first walk with our Tour Director Chan.
So are they Moo Girls or Cow Girls.   ???

We walked towards China town, but not too far because the sky had opened up and it rained on us.

We walked with our tour director through a series of walkways.  The downtown core is home to the largest expanse of walkways in North America. The Plus 15 pedestrian bridges stand 15 feet above street level giving its coined name. It accounts for 16 kilometers of a climate-controlled network of walkways.  It took us close to where we decided to go for dinner – Rodney Oyster House.  We left the group there and walked to our dinner.   Yum.  There was even some liquid refreshment – the National drink of Canada – All hail the Caesar and some insanely sweet ice tea with cinnamon were ordered.
We are now tired and wet. But full stomachs and time to rest for tomorrow.  Hopefully with less rain.

nitey nite.